Skip Navigation

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Iota Upsilon Chapter January 20, 1973

 Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. has shown throughout its existence that it is more than just a social Greek society but rather a public service organization.  Since its arrival on Austin Peay State University’s campus on January 20, 1973, the legacy of “Scholarship, Service, and Sisterhood” continues.  Iota Upsilon Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered under the advisement of Soror Flora Richbourg and 10 dynamic ladies beginning a new tradition of African American Greek life.  As the first African American Greek letter organization on the campus and still today, the ladies strive to carryout the Sorority’s motto “Intelligence is the Torch of Wisdom.” 

 Throughout thirty plus years of commitment, Iota Upsilon has received numerous awards and recognitions including “Outstanding Community Service Program” and “Sorority of the Year—NPHC.”  Socially, many ongoing activities of the chapter include food and clothing drives, voter registration, “Help and Elf,” health and financial forums, and the annual Peppermint Affair, which proceeds are give to a graduating high school senior as a one time scholarship to their interested college or university.  The ladies of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. can attest that success of the organization is measured through quality and not the quantity of members.

 In the beginning there was…

Barbara Patton, Sharon Sledge, Sharon Proctor, Brenda McKindra, Paula Harmon, Pamela Harmon, Debra Abernathy, Shelia Scott, Cornelia Wills and Ernestine Dumas* (* Deceased)

Nickname: Delta’s
Colors: Crimson and Cream
Flower: African Violet
Chapter Name: Iota Upsilon
Founded Nationally: January 13, 1913
Founded Locally: January 20, 1973

Delta Sigma Theta's President: Nataile McClendon-Douglass

Delta Sigma Theta National Web Page