Go back

Research Council 

Charge: 

     The Research Council (RC) monitors the research environment of APSU and deliberates additions and amendments to policies/regulations/guidelines impacting research activities and/or APSU employees engaged in research. The RC may initiate studies that are concerned with the welfare of research and advises the University in matters concerned research. The RC may engage in addional responsibilities as determined by the RC chairperson. 

Membership:

     The RC is chaired by the Associate Provost for Research and is comprised of representatives from each college (2 CoB, 2 CoE, 3 CoAL, 3 CoBHS, and 3 CoSTEM), a representative from Faculty Senate, a representative from the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP), a representative from the Library, and a representative from the Office of Student Research and Innovation. At least one of the representatives from each college should have strong affiliations with a graduate program within the college. Only faculty representatives will have voting privileges. 

 2017-18 Research Council Meetings

Date Time Location
Tuesday, September 19, 2017          3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 307
Tuesday, October 24, 2017 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 305
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 307
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 307
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 307
Tuesday, March 20, 2018 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 307
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 307

 

Research Council Members

Research Council Coordinator: Kelly Pitts; pittsk@apsu.edu; x7881

 

College Membership

       
Dr. Andrea Spofford spofforda@apsu.edu CoAL Languages and Literature  
Dr. Ann Silverberg silverberga@apsu.edu CoAL Music  
Dr. Paul Collins collinsp@apsu.edu CoAL Art  
Dr. Dave Grimmett grimmettd@apsu.edu CoB Management  
Dr. Hassan Said saidh@apsu.edu CoB Accounting  
Dr. Kevin Harris harrisk@apsu.edu CoBHS Psy/Counseling  
Dr. Jonniann Butterfield butterfieldj@apsu.edu CoBHS Sociology  
 Vacant   CoBHS Nursing  
Dr. John McConnell mcconnellj@apsu.edu CoE Ed Specialties  
Dr. Gary Stewart stewartg@apsu.edu CoE Ed Specialties  
Dr. Stefan Woltmann woltmanns@apsu.edu CoSTEM Biology  
Dr. Roman Holovchak holovchakr@apsu.edu CoSTEM Physics  
Dr. Russ Longhurst  longhurstw@apsu.edu CoSTEM Physics  

 Dr. Chad Brooks (*Chair)

 brooksc@apsu.edu COGS  Interim Associate Provost  

Faculty Senate Rep

       
Dr. Sergei Markov markovs@apsu.edu Faculty Senate Biology  
 

 

Deans

   
Dr. Dixie Webb webbd@apsu.edu CoAL
Dr. Charles Moses mosesc@apsu.edu CoB 
Dr. David Denton dentond@apsu.edu CoBHS
Dr. Prentice Chandler chandlerp@apsu.edu CoE
Dr. Karen Meisch meischk@apsu.edu CoSTEM

 

Affiliated Units

   
Lynne Crosby crosbyl@apsu.edu Academic Affairs, VProvost
Brad Averitt averittb@apsu.edu COGS, Grad Recruiter
Denise Robledo robledod@apsu.edu Distance Learning, Director
David Davenport davenportdl@apsu.edu Diversity, Director
Kristine Nakutis nakutisk@apsu.edu FCC, Director
Gilbert Pitts pittsg@apsu.edu IACUC, Chair
Caroline Clasby clasbyc@apsu.edu International Recruitment
Jonniann Butterfield butterfieldj@apsu.edu IRB, Chair
Joe Weber weberj@apsu.edu LIB, Director
Brandi Clements clementsbr@apsu.edu ORSP, Director
Erin Lynch-Alexander lynche@apsu.edu OSRI, Director
Ashlee Spearman spearmana@apsu.edu QEP, Director
Loretta Griffy griffyl@apsu.edu Student Success, AProvost
Amy Corlew corlewa@apsu.edu UG Admissions, Director