Go back

General Education Standing Committee

Membership 2017-2018:
  • Karen Meisch, Faculty Representative, Chair 

  • Dixie Webb, Dean, College of Arts and Letters 

  • John Volker, Faculty Representative 

  • Dan Shea, Faculty Representative 

  • Rob Baron, Faculty Representative 

  • Kathryn Woods, Faculty Representative 

  • Nicole Knickmeyer, Faculty Representative 

  • Andrea Spofford, Faculty Representative 

  • Jackie Vogel, Faculty Representative 

  • Christina Chester Fangman, Faculty Representative 

  • Bobette Bouton, Faculty Representative 


The committee will have the responsibility for ensuring that critical competencies (written communication, oral communication, math skills, and critical thinking skills) are evaluated. The committee will also address development of APSU's student learning outcomes as outlined by BRAVO (Basics, Reasoning, Awareness, Values, and Outcomes).  In addition, the committee will review and vote on all changes and additions to university core courses and will advise the University Curriculum Committee for their final decision.  An annual report will be provided to the provost regarding progress in meeting goals to instill in students the four critical competencies.

If you have questions, concerns or would like more information about the General Education Standing Committee, please contact: 

                                   Karen Meisch
                         E-Mail:  meischk@apsu.edu