Skip Navigation

The Academic Council

     The Academic Council receives and studies proposed changes in curriculum and makes final recommendations to the President of the University.
     The Council may initiate studies of academic and/or curricular concern and make resultant recommendations to the President of the University. It may deliberate and make recommendations relative to curricular and/or academic proposals submitted to it through usual academic offices or by faculty organizations.
     In addition, the Council advises on matters which the the President may submit to the Council for its consideration. The Liberal Arts Sub-Committee of the Academic Council shall serve the Provost or the Academic Council. When either the Provost or the Academic Council desires review of CORE courses or CORE issues, this standing committee will be available for this purpose.

    The Academic Council meets on the fourth Wednesday of Sept., Oct., Nov., Jan., Feb., March, and April at 3 p.m. in University Center, room 310. 

Academic Proposals - Guidelines

Forms (A, B, C) for Course and Program Proposals

Courses Approved (Form As)

How to Propose Changes to Core

General Education Courses



APSU Policy 1:012 - Constitution of the Academic Council 

APSU Policy 2:001 - Curricular Change

Academic Inventory (Tennessee Higher Education Commission)


Deans/Directors appointed by the President:

  • Linda Barnes - 2011-2014
  • David Denton - 2012-2015
  • William Cox - 2013-2016

Full-time, tenured faculty appointed by the President:

  • Minoa Uffelman - 2011-2014
  • Don Dailey - 2012-2015
  • Tucker Brown - 2013-2016

Full Time, Tenured Faculty Elected through Faculty Senate selection process:

  • Karen Sorenson - 2011-2014
  • Matt Jones - 2011-2014
  • Sue Evans - 2011-2014
  • William Rayburn - 2012-2015
  • Anne Wall - 2012-2015
  • David Snyder - 2013-2016
  • Charles Grah - 2013-2016

Faculty Senate Representative:

  • Phyllis Camilleri 2013-2014

Student Representatives Appointed by Student Government Association:

  • Molly Silkowski - 2013-2014
  • Patrick Grady - 2013-2014
  • Joseph S. Marler- 2013-2014

Ex Officio Members:

  • Telaina Wrigley, Registrar

The President and Provost are permanent members. The Provost serves as chair.

Term expires at the end of the summer of the year noted by each name.