Skip Navigation

Staff for the Community School of the Arts


Matthew Burns - Coordinator

Visual Arts:

Tim Pafford - Watercolors, Drawing, Oils, Pastels
Susan McGolrick - Art for Children/Teens
Mary Alice Burkhart - Calligraphy
Shelby Crutcher - Beginning Ceramics
Melody Shipley - Advanced Ceramics
Sarah Kent- Youth Ceramics 


Rachel Ison - Jewelry Making
Patty Davis - Flower Arranging
Susan McGolrick - Basket Weaving, Book Binding 

Photography/Digital Arts:

Lois Jones - Digital SLR Photography
David W. Shelton - Web Design, Computer Graphics, Photoshop


Margaret Rennerfeldt - Ballet, Reading Readiness (APSU Faculty)
Claira Estes - Dance Level One and Two, Ballet I
Taylor Vanders - Adult Ballet 


Quincy Rhoads - Creative Writing, Manuscript prep, poetry


Edd Garcia - Theater for Children, Improvisation

Music (Individual Instruction):


Dora Podkovyroff-Lewis
Justin Fitch
Tyler Saunders
Yoon E. Pak


Cristi Burkeen- violin, viola
Rachel Pariseau - violin
Lindsey Smith Trostle - cello
Elaine Martin - cello
Emily Crane - violin (APSU Full Time Faculty, audition only)*


Christopher Groves
Jason Pollack (APSU student)**
Jeremy Holt - guitar/mandolin/bass


Malinda Cox- double reeds
Yamil Camacho - clarinet
Austin Ward - saxophone (APSU student)**
Jeanette Zyko - double reeds (APSU Full Time Faculty, audition only)*
Lisa Read Wolynec - flute (APSU Full Time Faculty, audition only)*


TBD - trombone
Daniel Milner - horn
Michael Ritter - trumpet


Carlos Johnson - all percussion


Justin Nelson (APSU student)**
Gail Robinson-Oturu (APSU Full Time Faculty, audition only*

Music Ensembles/Group Classes:

Briana Larsen - Early Childhood Music Classes
Simone Parker
 - Grace Notes Youth String Orchestra Director

*Individual Music Instructors that are marked with a (*) are full-time APSU music faculty and give lessons through the CSA by audition only. The cost for lessons with full time APSU music faculty differs from other CSA staff.

**CSA instructors that are marked with a (**) are students at APSU and are recommended by the faculty of their departments and also have a separate cost. 

Please see the Individual Music Instruction page for more information.