Skip Navigation

Chemistry Department Personnel

Department Chair
Lisa Sullivan
Lisa Sullivan

Dr. Sullivan is the chemistry department chair and an associate professor. She earned her PhD in materials inorganic chemistry from Vanderbilt University. She currently advises pre-dental, pre-dental hygiene and chemistry majors. She teaches materials, inorganic, general, and seminar.

Phone: 931-221-6148
Office: SSC A308    

sullivanl@apsu.edu

Department Faculty (in alphabetical order)
Carrie Brennan
Carrie Brennan

Dr. Brennan is an full professor. She earned her PhD in analytical chemistry from the University of Pittsburgh. She currently advises forensic students and chemistry majors. She teaches forensics classes, analytical chemistry and general chemistry.

Phone: 931-221-7623
Office: SSC D318  

brennanc@apsu.edu

Raj Dakshinamurthy

Dr. Dakshinamurthy is a full professor. He earned his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Arkansas. He currently serves as an Associate Provost of Research and Dean of the College of Graduate Studies. 

Phone: 931-221-6934
Office: SSC C309a

dakshinamurthyr@apsu.edu
Leslie Hiatt

Leslie Hiatt

Dr. Hiatt is an associate professor. She earned her PhD in bioanalytical electrochemistry from Vanderbilt University. She advises pre-pharmacy students and teaches non-science majors, general and analytical chemistry.

Phone: 931-221-7627
Office: SSC D317  

hiattl@apsu.edu

Meagan Mann

Dr. Mann is an associate professor. She earned her PhD in Medicinal Chemistry from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She currently advises pre-professional students, pre-chemical engineering, biochemistry, chemistry, and chemistry teaching students. She is also a faculty advisor for the Pre-Professional Health Society (PPHS) student organization. She teaches biochemistry, organic chemistry, and toxicology courses.

Phone: 931-221-6175
Office: SSC C305  

mannm@apsu.edu

Fred Matthews

Fred Matthews

Dr. Matthews is a full  professor. He earned his PhD in organic chemistry from Clemson University. He teaches all levels of organic chemistry.

Phone: 931-221-7622
Office: SSC D304  

matthewsf@apsu.edu

Robin Reed

Robin Reed

Dr. Reed is a full professor. He earned his PhD in biochemistry from Vanderbilt University. He currently advises pre-pharmacy, pre-med, biochemistry and chemistry majors. He teaches non-science majors, general chemistry, and biochemistry.

Phone: 931-221-1007
Office: SSC C304  

reedr@apsu.edu

Ron Robertson

Ron Robertson

Dr. Robertson is a full professor. He earned his PhD in physical chemistry from Vanderbilt University. He recently retired from our department in December 2016.  

robertsonr@apsu.edu

Will Ward

Dr. Ward is an assistant professor. He earned his PhD in Inorganic Chemistry from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland. He teaches General Chemistry and Inorganic Chemistry courses.

Phone: 931-221-7621
Office: SSC D320

wardw@apsu.edu

Temporary and Adjunct Faculty
Silvestre Alcantara

Dr. Alcantara is a new adjunct faculty member in our department. He is also teaching course for the Physics Department.

Jason Payne

Prof. Payne is a new adjunct faculty member in our department.

Anuradha Pathiranage

Dr. Pathiranage is a new instructor in our department.

Phone: 931-221-7630
Office: SSC D305

pathiranagea@apsu.edu

 

Marcia Schilling

Marcia SHilling

Dr. Schilling has taught for our department for a couple of years. She earned her PhD in chemistry from Vanderbilt University. She teaches general chemistry, biochemistry, brief organic lab, research, and other classes as needed.

Phone: 931-221-7782
Office: SSC D309

schillingm@apsu.edu

 

Staff
Donna Liverett 
Donna Liverett

Mrs. Donna is the department's admistrative assistant. She runs the chemistry office and makes sure the faculty are on their toes. She assists students in many ways and manages all student workers.

Phone: 931-221-7628

Office: SSC A308    

liverettd@apsu.edu         

 
 
Ronald Palmer 

Mr. Palmer is our department's lab manager. He earned his MA in organic chemistry from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and his MAT (Master of Arts in Teaching) from East Tennessee State University. He maintains the chemical stockroom and prepares all the materials for our introductory and beginning labs, as well as lending a hand wherever he can.

Phone: 931-221-7624

Office: SSC A312  

palmerr@apsu.edu 

  

Emeritus Professors

John Foote, Ph.D.  

Mississippi State University 

footej@apsu.edu

Inorganic Chemistry

Harvey Blanck, Ph.D.

Ohio State University 

blanckh@apsu.eduPhysical Chemistry

Durward Harris, Ph.D.

University of Tennessee

harrisd@apsu.eduOrganic Chemistry and Biochemistry