Go back

20 tenure-track faculty join APSU

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. – A total of 20 new tenure-track faculty members have become part of the Austin Peay State University community, beginning with the Fall 2013 semester.


College of Arts and Letters


CLARKSVILLE, Tenn. – A total of 20 new tenure-track faculty members have become part of the Austin Peay State University community, beginning with the Fall 2013 semester.


College of Arts and Letters


Dr. John Steinberg, associate professor and chair of the APSU Department of History and Philosophy, earned his Ph.D. in Russian history from the Ohio State University. Steinberg spent much of his career as an associate and then full professor at Georgian Southern University. He is the co-editor of Russia’s Great War and Revolution, an international research project. 


Dr. Wes Atkinson, assistant professor of languages and literature, earned his Ph.D. in English from Lehigh University, specializing in American Literature 1776 to 1865.


Dr. Christopher Bailey, assistant professor of musical theatre and voice, earned his Ph.D. of Fine Arts in Music Theatre and Arts Administration from Texas Tech University.


Virginia Griswold, assistant professor of art, earned her Master of Fine Arts degree from the New York State College of Ceramics at Alfred University. In 2012, she was awarded a residency fellowship to Cite Internationale des Arts in Paris, France.



Dr. Christophe Konkobo, assistant professor of languages and literature, earned a Ph.D. in French and Francophone Studies from the University of Iowa. He previously served as associate professor of French and Francophone Studies at Tennessee State University.


Dr. Andrea Spofford, assistant professor of languages and literature, earned her Ph.D. in creative writing, poetry, from the University of Southern Mississippi. She is the author of the chapbook “Everything Combustible,” and her essay “Elephants” received a Pushcart nomination in 2013.


College of Behavioral and Health Science


Dr. Michael Gruszczynski, assistant professor of political science, earned a Ph.D. in political science from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, specializing in American politics, political psychology and methodology.


Dr. Ying Ma, assistant professor of sociology, earned a Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Cincinnati. Ma was previously awarded a Norris Johnson Teaching Fellowship and a Charles Phelps Taft Dissertation Fellowship.


Dr. Jeffrey Thompson, assistant professor of social work, earned a Masters of Social Work from Alabama A&M University and a Doctor of Ministry from Palmer Seminary/Eastern University. He previously received sizable grants from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.


College of Business


Dr. Jennis Biser, assistant professor of economics, earned a Ph.D. in economics from George Mason University. Biser was awarded a Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation Fellowship at that university.


Dr. Edward Conrad, assistant professor of business, earned a Ph.D. in management from Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, specializing in organizational strategy, information technology and research methods.


Gloria Miller, assistant professor of business, is completing her Ph.D. in management science from the University of Wisconsin. Miller received a 2012 Competitive Research Grant for Empirical Research on Cultural Intelligence.


Dr. Yingtao Shen, assistant professor of business, earned a Ph.D. in marketing from the University of Alberta. Shen’s research interests include online consumer behavior, electronic word of mouth, multiple product strategies and pricing strategies.


College of Science and Mathematics


Dr. Christina Galben, assistant professor of agriculture, earned her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine from the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine. She is a 1998 graduate of APSU.


Dr. Roman Holovchak, assistant professor of physics and astronomy, earned a Ph.D. in 2004, in Optics and Laser Physics from the Institute for Physical Optics in Lviv, Ukraine. Previous experience includes a research position at Lehigh University and visiting professor at Rouen University (France). He is an author and co-author of more than 70 publications in peer-reviewed scientific journals.


Dr. William R. Longhurst, associate professor of physics and astronomy, earned his Doctor of Philosophy degree from Vanderbilt University, specializing in mechanical engineering.


Colleen White, biology instructor, earned a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Science from Austin Peay State University. She previously taught science at Clarksville Academy, serving as head of the Upper School from 2003-2011.


Holly Tapp, assistant professor of allied health sciences, earned her Master of Science in Management from Brescia University. She is the clinical coordinator for the radiation therapy program. Tapp also is actively certified in Radiology and Radiation Therapy by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists.


Dr. Stefan Woltmann, assistant professor of biology, earned a Ph.D. in ecology and evolutionary biology from Tulane University. His research interests include avian dispersal, conservation genetics, conservation biology, neotropical bird ecology and bird migration.

School of Technology and Public Management 

Robert Keller, assistant professor of engineering technology, holds a Master of Science in Textile Technology from the Institute of Textile Technology and 18 credit hours toward a Doctorate of Education.  He brings 12 years of higher education experience to Austin Peay.