Go back

Creative writing professor kicks off lecture series

The works of Abigail Thomas (left) and Dorothy Allison are the basis of a research presentation Sept. 1 by Dr. Amy Wright, assistant professor of creative writing at APSU. Photo contributed

The works of Abigail Thomas (left) and Dorothy Allison are the basis of a research presentation Sept. 1 by Dr. Amy Wright, assistant professor of creative writing at APSU. Photo contributed

The written words of Emily Dickinson, Sappho, Dorothy Allison, Abigail Thomas and Jane Tompkins all have something in common – their powerful voices speak for those misrepresented or underrepresented.

This is the basis of a research presentation by Dr. Amy Wright, assistant professor of creative writing at Austin Peay State University. She is one of several faculty members chosen to present their research and creative activity on campus during the 2011-12 academic year as part of the Provost Lecture Series.

Wright, who also serves as the University’s nonfiction editor of APSU’s Zone 3 Press and Zone 3 journal, will kick off the weekly series at 3 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 1 in the Morgan University Center, Room 303. The title of her presentation is “The Butterfly Nail: Tracking Feminine Authority.”

In her presentation, Wright will discuss why the works of Dickinson, Allison, Thomas and other female writers were able to communicate with and for those not in a position to express independent thinking.

“The reasons why one voice rises above the rest to be heard is a product of context and shapes context as it evolves, especially when that voice speaks for those who have been misrepresented or underrepresented,” Wright said.

Wright is the author of two chapbooks, “Farm” (Finishing Line Press: 2010) and “There Are No New Ways to Kill a Man” (Apostrophe Books: 2009). Her prose and poetry appears in a number of publications, including the Western Humanities Review, Sonora Review, Bellingham Review, American Letters & Commentary and Quarterly West.

Other sessions in the Provost Lecture Series also are planned for the academic year. All sessions are from 3-4:30 p.m. in the MUC, Room 303 (unless noted otherwise) and include the following:

Sept. 8: Dr. Ben Ntatin, associate professor of mathematics

Sept. 15: Dr. Donald Luck, professor of education

Sept. 22: Dr. Clark Maddux, associate professor of English

Sept. 29: Dr. Rebecca Jones, associate professor of chemistry

Oct. 6: Angelina Fowler, Center of Excellence for Field Biology

Oct. 13: Dr. Korre Foster, assistant professor of music

Oct. 20: Susan Bryant, professor of art

Oct. 27: Dr. Dwayne Estes, associate professor of biology

Nov. 3: Dr. Dan Frederick, professor of geology and geography

Nov. 10: Dr. Kathrine Flower, assistant professor of sociology

Nov. 17: Darren Michael, associate professor of theater and dance

Dec. 1: Dr. Tim Leszczak, assistant professor of health and human performance

Jan. 12: Dr. Ellen Smyth, instructor of mathematics

Jan. 19: Dr. Ann Silverberg, professor of music

Jan. 26: Dr. Marsha Lyle-Gonga, assistant professor of political science

Feb. 2: Dr. Rebecca Johansen, assistant professor of biology

Feb. 9: Dr. Sergei Markov, associate professor of biology

Feb. 16: Cynthia Marsh, professor of art

Feb. 23: Dr. Christine Mathenge, associate professor of geology

March 1: Dr. Robert Shelton, associate professor of chemistry

March 15, MUC 307: Dr. Allyn Smith, associate professor of physics

March 22: Dr. Sharon Mabry, professor of music

March 29: Dr. Cameron Sutt, assistant professor of history

April 5: Mark DeYoung, assistant professor of art

April 12: Dr. Tim Winters, professor of English

April 19, MUC 103: Dr. Jeffrey Wood, professor of music

The Provost Lecture Series seeks to foster a spirit of intellectual and scholarly inquiry among faculty, staff and students. The program will be used as a platform for APSU faculty members who are recent recipients of provost summer grants, who have been awarded faculty development leaves and who have engaged in recent scholarly inquiry during sabbatical leaves.

APSU faculty members with recent research of acclaim also will be given a platform within this series. In addition, other faculty members of local or widespread renown will be invited to lecture within this series.

For more information about the Provost Lecture Series, call Dr. Brian Johnson, assistant vice president of academic affairs at APSU, at (931) 221-7992 or email him at johnsonb@apsu.edu. -- Melony Shemberger