Go back

APSU employees honored for continuous service, retirement or education

Donna Liverett (right) receives a standing ovation as she is honored for her 40 years of service in the APSU Department of Chemistry during an employee service awards reception July 22 at Austin Peay State University. (Photo by Beth Liggett, APSU photographer)

Several employees at Austin Peay State University were recognized Friday, July 22 for their continuous years of service. A reception was held in the Morgan University Center ballroom to honor those employees.

Donna Liverett, administrative assistant in the APSU Department of Chemistry, was honored for her 40 years of service to APSU.

Employees with 25 years are Clifford Frederick, Cheryl Garrett, David Gleckler, Denise Hemingway, Michele Jones, Betty Leimer and Julia McGee.

Those recognized for 20 years were Rose Austin, Sheila Bryant, Tammy Bryant, Geraldine Garner, Roy Gregory, Jana Hatcher, Dave Loos, Connie Sanders and Lynne Yarbrough.

Individuals with 15 years of employment are Mary Cochran, Amy Deaton, Angie Denton, Jan Ellis, Kathleen Evans, Mark McLain, Wanda McNabb, Deborah Shearon and Barbara Stewart.

Employees who have been with APSU for 10 years are Earleen Barefoot, Mary Bigbee-Waller, Bertha Brisson, Carol Clark, Craig Sager, Jim Spriggle, Elizabeth Stonerock, Jacqueline Struckmeyer and Makeba Webb.

Those receiving five-year service recognition were Martha Andrews, Kathrine Bailey, Darci Bateman, David Brockman, Christina Chester-Fangman, Bernice Clark, Barry Coate, Melissa Conwell, Twyla Correa, Terry Damron, Carrie Daniels, Dixie Dennis, Mike Dunn, Mark Gray, Melissa Hunter, Rosemary Knickerbocker, Jean Langley, Tina Massey, Deborah Mattero, Sibrena Merriam, Jasmine O’Brien, Ana Ortega, Sharon Schempp, Melony Shemberger, Thomas Smyth, Rebecca Spriggle, Amy Tanner, Joel Thomas, Towanja Titington, Charles Wells, Sharon West and Richard Wheeler.

APSU employees who retired during the 2010-11 school year also were recognized. Those were Bertha Brisson, Carolyn Camill, Joan Ferrier, Linda Forbus, James Hallums, Theodore Heidloff, Richard Jackson, Harriett McQueen, Sandra Nicholson, Ruthie Nolin, Ligia Ramos, Carlene Smith and Kenneth Welker.

Staff employees who have earned their CPS (certified professional secretary) credential are Pam Allen, Johnathan Button, Kimberly Coats, Rebecca Kiser, Marian Perron, Candi Price, Lisa Ramsey and Stephanie Wilson.

Employees who received postsecondary degrees within the past year are Pam Allen, Charles Booth, Sue Breeden, Johnathan Button, Patrice Cheatham, Melissa Conwell, Amber d’Agostino, Terry Damron, Melissa Dempsey, Ryan Forsythe, Patricia Fries, Alexis Gatson, Brittney Herron, June Lee, Randi Major, Barbara Peterson, Kimberly Scott, Debbie Shearon, Jeremy Sullivan, Lynette Taylor, Towanja Titington, James Watson, Lauren Weaver and Stephanie Wilson. -- Melony Shemberger