Go back

TBR approves 13 holidays for 2004

December 9, 2003


Last week, the Tennessee Board of Regents approved the Universitys 2004 holiday schedule, giving Austin Peay employees 13 paid holidays next year, according to Robert Bird, executive director of human resources.

The schedule includes eight official holidays designated by TBR:

•New Years Day, Thursday, Jan. 1
•Martin Luther King Day, Monday, Jan. 19
•Good Friday, Friday, April 9
•Memorial Day, Monday, May 31
•Independence Day, Monday, July 5
•Labor Day, Monday, Sept. 6
•Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, Nov. 25 December 9, 2003


Last week, the Tennessee Board of Regents approved the University's 2004 holiday schedule, giving Austin Peay employees 13 paid holidays next year, according to Robert Bird, executive director of human resources.

The schedule includes eight official holidays designated by TBR:

•New Year's Day, Thursday, Jan. 1
•Martin Luther King Day, Monday, Jan. 19
•Good Friday, Friday, April 9
•Memorial Day, Monday, May 31
•Independence Day, Monday, July 5
•Labor Day, Monday, Sept. 6
•Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, Nov. 25
•Christmas Day, Friday, Dec. 24

Employees may take five additional “University-designated” holidays:
Friday, Nov. 26, and Monday-Thursday, Dec. 20-23. These days are not charged to annual leave.

In addition, employees are required to take off Jan. 2, 2004, and Dec. 27-30, 2004, and should charge these days to annual leave.

Looking ahead, the Jan. 1, 2005, holiday officially will be observed on Friday, Dec. 31, 2004. The year-end holiday break for 2004 will extend from Saturday, Dec. 18, 2004, to Jan. 2, 2005.
—Rebecca Mackey