Skip Navigation

The Socrates Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Socrates Award for Excellence in Teaching is given for outstanding teaching for tenure-track faculty members who have not yet received tenure and is presented at the Academic Honor and Awards Day ceremony. There are a maximum of three recipients each year. The recipients must have at least one year of APSU's student-teacher evaluations. Non-tenured department chairs are also eligible. In addition to being outstanding teachers, the candidates' academic advising, research, and creative activities that clearly support excellence in teaching will also be considered. Recipients will not be eligible to win during the next two calendar years. Nominations are made within departments and are forwarded to one of three established selection committees. The 1) College of Arts and Letters; 2) College of Science and Mathematics, Library and School of Technology and Public Management; and 3) College of Behavioral and Health Sciences; College of Business, and College of Education will constitute the three units, each of which will field a Socrates Award winner, provided there is a suitable awardee. The individuals receiving the majority of the vote of the selection committee shall be recommended to the provost and vice president of Academic Affairs. This award consists of $1,000 in faculty development funds to be used to enhance a faculty member's research and/or teaching. Each use of development funds must be approved in advance by the provost. In addition each recipient shall receive an engraved plaque.

Past recipients of the Socrates Award for Excellence in Teaching are: 

2014Osvaldo Di Paolo, Timothy Leszczak, John Nicholson
2013Lynn Sims, Eric Branscome, Grace Moodt, Rebecca Johansen
2012Lisa O'Dear Lewis, Jeannette Zyko, Christopher Gentry
2011 Benita Bruster, Mercy Cannon, Christina Chester-Fangman, David Nelson, Michelle Rogers
2010 Christos Frentzos, Karen McFarland Meisch, James Gary Stewart
2009 Gregory Moore, Kevin Schultz, Minoa Uffelman
2008 Gina Jo Garber, Norbert Puszkar, Tamara Michelle Robertson
2007 Chad Brooks, Brian J. Hock, Blas Falconer
2006 Gilbert Pitts, Anne Wall, Gregory Wolynec
2005 Spencer Buckner, Dwonna Goldstone, Uma Janardana Iyer
2004 Nomination and presentation moved to same calendar year
2003 Robin Reed, Jordy Rocheleau, Patti Wilson
2002 Jill Eichhorn, Alex King, Jerry Plummer, Omie Shepherd
2001 Connie Mefford-Bowman, Rhonda M. Bryant, John X. Volker
2000 Susan Simms, Timothy Winters, Faye Zeigler
1999 Anne Black, Anne Edwards, David O'Drobinak, April Purcell
1998 Margaret Duffy, John Mark Hunter, Carolyn O'Drobinak, Jaime Taylor
1997 Doris Davenport, Mark Ginn, Barry Kitterman, Larry Lowrance
1996 Kell Black, Joyce A. Jarrett-Hargrove, Don Luck, Mickey Wadia
1995 Susan Calovini, Kathy Martin, Stephanie Newport, Ronald Robertson
1994 Linda A. Barnes, Michael D. Phillips, Nanci S. Woods
1993 Judith Bartley, Nell K. Rayburn, Marilyn Rhoads, Lori L. Slavin