Skip Navigation

The Richard M. Hawkins Award

The recipient of the Richard M. Hawkins Award shall be an individual judged to have made noteworthy contributions to scholarship or creative activity. The recipient shall be a full-time faculty member. All academic ranks are eligible. While there will normally be a recipient each year, the award will not be presented in a year when candidates fail to meet the necessary criteria as judged by the Selection Committee. A call for nominations will be extended by the chair of the Honors and Awards Committee in mid-February. Each department may nominate one individual for the award. The name of the nominee and supporting material shall be submitted to the appropriate dean. Supporting material includes a current vita, letters of support, and copies of any scholarly or creative work including, but not limited to, texts, recordings, portfolios, etc. as evidence of a candidate’s contributions. Each dean shall rank the nominees from his/her college or school and submit these ranked names along with the supporting materials to the selection committee via the Provost’s office. The individual receiving the majority vote of the selection committee shall be recommended to the President as the recipient of the Richard M. Hawkins Award. The selection committee will be composed of the chair of the Honors and Awards Committee, provost, and chair of the Faculty Research Committee. The awards shall consist of $1,000 cash and an engraved plaque with the recipient’s name inscribed. The plaque will be displayed in the foyer of the Browning Administration Building.

Past recipients of the Richard M. Hawkins Award are:

2014Osvaldo Di Paolo
2013Andriy Kovalskyy
2012Kevin Harris
2011 Sergei Markov
2010 Jill Franks
2009 Samuel Jator
2008 J. Allyn Smith
2007 Dixie Dennis
2006 None Named
2005 Michele T. Butts
2004 Carlette Hardin
2003 Allene Phy-Olsen
2002 Stanley Yates
2001 Roger Clark
2000 Dewey A. Browder
1999 Steven Ryan
1998 Carl Stedman
1997 DeAnn Campbell
1996 James Michael McClusky
1995 Victor Ukpolo
1994 James Michael Gotcher
1993 Albert B. Randall, Jr.
1992 Malcom "Kip" Muir
1991 Harvey F. Blanck
1990 Anthony Golden
1989 Larry Hoehn
1988 Jeffrey Neal Wood
1987 Ernest Woodward
1986 Dolores Gore
1985 Malcom Glass
1984 Richard P. Gildrie
1983 George L. Mabry
1982 James X. Corgan
1981 Olen L. Bryant
1980 Phillip Kemmerly
1979 Sharon Mabry