Skip Navigation

The Chamber of Commerce Distinguished Faculty Award for Community Service

The Chamber of Commerce Distinguished Faculty Award shall be based on service to the community with emphasis placed on contributions that have enhanced or will enhance the quality of life in the Clarksville/Montgomery County area. Contributions may have been made over a period of years. Each department, dean, faculty member, staff member or member of the Clarksville/Montgomery County community may nominate one individual for the award each year. The recipient shall be a full-time teaching member or departmental chair. All academic ranks are eligible. There shall be a single recipient each year. The call for nominations shall be made by the chair of the Honors and Awards Committee. The name of the nominee and supporting materials shall be submitted to the Chair of the Honors and Awards Selection Committee. Supporting materials should include a current vita or resume and letter of support. This committee shall rank the nominees and submit the top three, along with supporting materials, to the President of the University each year by April 1. The Honors and Awards Selection Committee shall consist of the vice president of Student Affairs, who shall serve as chair; the provost; the executive director, University Advancement; and the director of Alumni Affairs. The award shall consist of $500 cash provided by the Nyrstar Zinc Plant and an engraved plaque serving as a personal memento provided by the Clarksville Area Chamber of Commerce.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Community Service Award are: 

2014Carrie Brennan
2013Doris Davenport
2012Tim Winters
2011 Dewey Browder
2010 Greg A. Schlanger
2009 Cynthia Marsh
2008 Ronald Robertson
2007 Anne Black
2006 Nell Rayburn
2005 Robert D. Robison
2004 Carmen Reagan
2003 Bruce Myers
2002 No Recipient
2001 Allen Henderson
2000 Phillip R. Kemmerly
1999 Max Hochestetler
1998 Richard Gildrie
1997 Carlette Hardin
1996 Rebecca A. Glass
1995 Camille B. Holt
1994 No Recipient
1993 T. Howard Will
1992 Dolores Gore
1991 George L. Mabry
1990 No Recipient
1989 Allan S. Williams
1988 Gaines C. Hunt
1987 J.F. Burney
1986 Elizabeth H. Stokes